Laura Catherine Rankin Memorial Scholarship

The Vanderbilt University School of Nursing grants several scholarship awards to students who enrolled in a nursing specialty that involves children of any age. The School of Nursing offers 6 full tuition scholarships each year as well several partial scholarships. Full-time enrollment (12 hours per semester) is required for consideration to the scholarship. Scholarship will also be considered in cases where a specialty program requires less than 12 hours in one semester. The scholarship cannot be awarded to part-time students and post-master’s students. They may however qualify for loans, instead of scholarship award.

Consideration for a full scholarship for first year students shall be based upon the students’ GPA and GRE, GMAT or other standardized test score. Scholarships for 2nd year returning students shall be based on the students’ GPA for the first semester of the nursing program. In order for students to maintain their scholarship every semester, they must continue to show satisfactory academic performance with overall cumulative GPA not falling below 3.0. A student whose GPA falls below 3.0 will lose his or her scholarship. The student who lost scholarship will have to petition for the reinstatement of the scholarship for another semester once the GPA returns to at least 3.0.

One of the scholarship awards given at the Vanderbilt University School of Nursing is the Laura Catherine Rankin Memorial Scholarship. It was established by Mr. and Mrs. Alan Rankin in memory of their daughter Laura Catherine Rankin. All scholarship awards from the Laura Catherine Rankin Memorial Scholarship shall be made through the School of Nursing Scholarship Committee.

Students who are interested on the Kathleen Suzanne Nelson Scholarship Fund may contact or inquire by phone at 615-322-3800 or 800-322-3800. Additional information may be obtained at:

461 21st Avenue South
Nashville, TN 37240

Amount: varies
Length: varies
Website: Visit Website